wonderful view of the water


Latest Updates from Baywood
Feb 21

10 Fun Facts You May Not Know About Delaware

Posted by Baywood Blog Team

We love our home here at Baywood Greens in Sussex County, Delaware! We know that Delaware is beautiful and home to some of the best beaches on the East Coast, but there is so much more to know about this great state of ours. Check out some of these fun facts and let us know if you knew any of them!

1. There are only 3 counties in the entire state! New Castle, Kent, and Sussex are the only counties in Delaware. Sussex is the largest county of the three, followed by Kent and then New Castle.
2. The Fenwick Island Lighthouse, which reaches 87 feet tall, was painted in 1880 for a grand total of $5.00.
3. Georgia may be known for their peaches, but Delaware’s official state flower is the peach blossom! You can see this flower blooming throughout the state in early springtime, and the flowers are actually pink.
4. For all the beaches, parks, and bike trails, Delaware in the only state without any National Park System features. There are no national parks, seashores, historic sites, battlefields, memorials, and monuments in Delaware that are a part of the National Park System.
5. We know those mosquitoes can be pesky in the summer, but the official state bug of Delaware is the ladybug!
6. Delaware is not the smallest state in the country, but ranks pretty close! We are the second smallest state in square mileage, coming in behind Rhode Island. That means even Hawaii is bigger than Delaware!
7. Calling all shoppers: Delaware is home to tax free shopping. Hit up the Rehoboth Outlets, located less than 10 miles from Baywood Greens, or any other stores to shop with no sales tax.
8. The Dogfish Head Brewery, located just a short drive from Baywood Greens, is available in 30 states across the U.S. and produces almost 700 million bottles of beer every year! That’s enough for everyone in Delaware to have 2 beers every day for a year.
9. If you’re wondering why Delaware looks extra festive during the winter, it is because the American holly is the official state tree. Holly trees can grow to 60 feet tall!
10. Milton, Delaware, also located in Sussex County, is named after the English poet John Milton. He is most well-known for his famous poem Paradise Lost.

Did you know any of these facts about Delaware? There is so much to discover here in Delaware, starting at our award-winning Baywood Greens community! Visit us online to learn more about all the Baywood Greens has to offer.

Sources: http://www.movoto.com/guide/de/delaware-facts/

Website by Inclind, Inc.